How International Quality, Safety, Environmental Standards are developed and agreed....

The International Standards Organization (ISO) is the primary international body responsible for development worldwide standards in quality, environmental, safety, regulatory environment. Within the ISO body, technical committees (TC’s) are set-up to focus on specific areas where standards are to be developed. The Technical Committees are staffed by experts in their area, who come from industry, academia, government and non-government bodies from around the world. The TC’s draft new or revised standards, which are then circulated for comment, feedback and recommendation. It takes approximately 3 years to develop a standard from initial draft to final approved publication.

ISO Standards Development

ISO Standards Development  (source: ISO International Standards Organization)

There are four principles upon which the ISO base their standards develop process. First, the standard must respond to a need in the market, second the standard must be based on global expert opinion, third the standards are developed and progressed through a multi-stakeholder process, i.e. members of the relevant TC must represent the brood range on interested parties, e.g. industry, academia, government, voluntary sectors, etc. and finally the new standard needs to be based on consensus.


Continuous improvement in Product and Process Quality >>>
Principles of Quality Management >>>
ISO 9001 Training Records >>>
Supplier Risk Assessment >>>
Process ReValidation >>>
ISO 9001 2015 description of changes from previous revision >>>
Constraints that can hinder a smooth process flow >>>

Quality Assurance, Quality Management information and training presentation >>>